Till innehåll på sidan

Björn Engquist receives Peter Henrici Prize at ICIAM 2011

Publicerad 2011-07-23

CIAM member Professor Björn Engquist is the 2011 recipient of the Peter Henrici Prize. He is being recognized for his fundamental contributions to applied and computational mathematics, scientific computing, and applications to engineering and the sciences, which have had a major impact in various areas of applied and computational mathematics.

Prof. Engquist delivered the award's associated lecture, the Peter Henrici Prize Lecture on Wednesday, July 20, and received a cash award of $5,000 along with a framed, hand-calligraphed certificate at the CAIMS/Mprime/SIAM Awards Lunch the following day, both held as part of the 7th International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM 2011).

His lecture, Fast Algorithms for High Frequency Wave Propagation, illustrated the large number of unknowns involved in the numerical simulation of high frequency electromagnetic wave propagation, in addition to elaboration of fast algorithms, such as the fast multipole method, for accurate solution to equations governing wave propagation.

The Peter Henrici Prize is awarded every four years jointly by Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule-Zürich (ETH Zurich) and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) for original contributions to applied and numerical analysis and/or for exposition appropriate for applied mathematics and scientific computing. The award, which is given to honor Peter Henrici, a pioneering researcher in the field of numerical analysis, is intended to recognize broad contributions in the area rather than honoring a single outstanding work.

Prof. Engquist earned his Ph.D. in numerical analysis from Uppsala University. He is currently Professor at KTH School of Computer Science and Communication as well as Professor and CAM Chair (No. 1) in the Mathematics Department and on the core faculty of the Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences at the University of Texas at Austin. He was elected to the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters in 2011 and is a SIAM Fellow.

Tillhör: CIAM - Center for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
Senast ändrad: 2011-07-23